Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    3D Printer Noob
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    11
    Post Thanks / Like

    Can you skip Cube Print App?

    Hi, Just wondering if you can ship cube print app and use another software to prepare files for printing?
    Home computer has an older version OSX 1.6.8 and not compatible with current Cube Print App.
    Looks like Iphone and Ipad aren't supported anymore.
    I could always exchange it for a recent Imac from work but would rather keep the old one at home.
    Will a software like Cura do the same thing as the cube Print App?
    I do not have the printer yet, so Icannot just test it.

    Thanks!

    Emili

  2. #2
    3D Printer Noob
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Bismarck, North Dakota
    Posts
    27
    Post Thanks / Like
    Yup! You sure can. It may take some tinkering, but other slicers work. There's an entire thread with information for it here:

    http://www.print3dforum.com/showthre...rs-with-cube-3

  3. #3
    3D Printer God(dess)
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    1,142
    Post Thanks / Like
    ...and 3D Builder if you are on Windows 10

  4. #4
    3D Printer Noob
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    11
    Post Thanks / Like
    No that's the thing. My home computer is an Apple with OSX 1.6.8
    I installed Cura and seems to b working well.
    Just waiting on the printer to arrive to test it out.

  5. #5
    3D Printer God(dess)
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    1,142
    Post Thanks / Like
    Will your IOS load the default 3D Systems app? That's the best place to start.
    Remember that the Cube3 is a closed system to the 3DS app and the M$ app 3DBuilder.
    Mythandar created an app that allows other slicers with a little bit of a work-around.

  6. #6
    Regular 3D Printer
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    YouEssEh
    Posts
    53
    Post Thanks / Like
    FYI...OSX and IOS are different things, OSX is Mac computers, IOS is iPhones and iPads...

    :-)

  7. #7
    3D Printer Noob
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    11
    Post Thanks / Like
    OSX 1.6.8 or IOS is the same issue anyways, it just doesn't support the Cube3 App. I was able to install Cura, just waiting for the printer to show up to test it.

    Worst case I'll just bring a more recent imac home.

  8. #8
    3D Printer God(dess)
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    1,142
    Post Thanks / Like

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •