Thanks Thanks:  3
Likes Likes:  2
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22
  1. #11
    Expert 3D Printer
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Location
    Earth.
    Posts
    311
    Post Thanks / Like
    I am wondering if anyone has tried to replace the BFB using the Cube3Editor?

  2. #12
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    2,976
    Post Thanks / Like
    Many times, why?

  3. #13
    Expert 3D Printer
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Location
    Earth.
    Posts
    311
    Post Thanks / Like
    for this purpose -- just controlling head and plate movement....

  4. #14
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    2,976
    Post Thanks / Like
    Aha, indirect and specific. Yep, that's how the overbrim was done. I think the consideration is something like realtime control.

  5. #15
    Expert 3D Printer
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Location
    Earth.
    Posts
    311
    Post Thanks / Like
    Yeah, realtime, not sure that will be possible with the cube, unless it has a diagnostic interface for that...

  6. #16
    Regular 3D Printer
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    117
    Post Thanks / Like
    Has anyone tryed connecting the cube to pronterface?
    IT needs to have a serial connection in some way

  7. #17
    Expert 3D Printer
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Location
    Earth.
    Posts
    311
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by razor81 View Post
    Has anyone tryed connecting the cube to pronterface?
    IT needs to have a serial connection in some way
    I agree it "needs" to have the serial connection, but alas, it does not have a serial interface as you want. It is a proprietary interface that requires the 3DS DLLs.

  8. #18
    Regular 3D Printer
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    117
    Post Thanks / Like
    If they only would of opensource the Code...
    IT isnt supported anyway and the Code could use some tweaks too...
    But i knew that as i bought the 2 cubes...

    - - - - - - - - - -

    I hope i will soon be able to Ship some parts to US... ��

    - - - - - - - - - -

    My jurney with original cube was short and dissapointing...
    But after the rebuild im a happy cube3 (as it should have been done/opensource Firmware and heatbed) owner

  9. #19
    Expert 3D Printer
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Location
    Earth.
    Posts
    311
    Post Thanks / Like
    If we were to write an extension to Cura, technically, we could write a plugin that would take an STL, generate compatible Cube3 BFB, then compress the BFB and send it via wifi to the printer. That would give you access to all sorts of control to the print.

  10. Likes TommyDee liked this post
  11. #20
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    2,976
    Post Thanks / Like
    You know there is access on the right port, right? The Cube3 talks to Windows Drivers.

    - - - - - - - - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by buddybu View Post
    If we were to write an extension to Cura, technically, we could write a plugin that would take an STL, generate compatible Cube3 BFB, then compress the BFB and send it via wifi to the printer. That would give you access to all sorts of control to the print.
    The BFB is a hare different but nothing exotic. You could run a script against the Cura BFB to make it Cube3 'with effort' and 3DS is almost there with the exception of the 2nd nozzle management. Rebuilding and preserving wiping are all there, so yes, if you consider the 3rd party slicer the open source option path for a Cube3 "converter", it wouldn't be hard if you apply the same techniques as you already have in the editor. Basically, identify the difference between two dozen commands and make use of the proprietary Cube3 commands. You might as well use what the firmware does provide, after all.

    You're getting me exited now Buddybu. I very much see this as manageable. We're not far off. Tuning a good recipe has always been a daunting stop sign for me. Never had to do that before. I can load anything into Cube3 and it'll tell me if it is junk or gold. In the PLA recipe I say they did excellent as well as PETG [EKO]. ABS was "Proprietized". How can I help

 

 

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •