Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  1
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    3D Printer Noob
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like

    CubeX Duo cartridge

    Hi
    i just got a CubeX Duo from a frend that was given up getting it running

    so i have change a fuse on the powersupply an now it is running , but i can see that some thing is missing or have bin changed
    there is no cartrige in the 3d printer and it looks that the cartridge has been mounted outside of the printer
    i can see there is cartridge holders inside ,one left and one right. for the cartridge.
    my questions is, is ther a way to mount the cartridge outside so that the cubeX not will check that the cartridges is not installed inside or do i have to get
    some new , and then install them inside
    i can see that the firmware is 1,07 do i need to make an update

    Regards
    Kenneth
    it seems to have been mounted on the side of the printerit seems to have been mounted on the side of the printervit seems to have been mounted on the side of the printerit seems to have been mounted on the side of the printerit seems to have been mounted on the side of the printer

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    3,391
    Post Thanks / Like
    Welcome to the forum Kenneth. CubeX is similar to the CubePro. You will need the application to run it and I don't know what the latest F/W is but we have a list of all files Cubify so that is easy. Look in the stickies in the Cube3 posts.

    These machines require a chip. They can be installed and the filament can come from anywhere. Unless your friend hacked the machine severely, you will need a chip to get the printer to print. Does the maintenance screen show all cartridges empty?

  3. #3
    3D Printer Noob
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thanks TommyDee

    My friend got it for some school that close, and he only got an USB stick with a licensens code sticker on, and 3 rolls of plastic, but no cartridges to put into the machine, also it looks like they have had mounted the rolls on the side, maybe you right, that it has been used with a hack, but is the hack then installed on the machine, or in the software on the computer Normally?, and can It run under win 10 or do I need win 7,
    Yes, when I turn it on, and go to the menu cartridge status, it says cartridge not found, unfortunately because there is no cartridge mounded
    Is there a way to get I running without cartridge, because I have seen some where one posting that some cubex software 1.07 can do it if some . Bfb file is modified, but I don't know anything about 3d printer, and software at all,, I'm only an old radio TV mechanic, That think it could be fun to try out that new world of 3d printing, ;-)
    Ther Was also another usb stik, on that there was some software called kissliser win64_1.5_release

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    3,391
    Post Thanks / Like
    Someone has done research at the school and had done efforts with your printer so that is good.

    I asked about the cartridge status only that maybe someone put a permanent chip in the machine. That is the simplest hack but has limitations.

    Go to this site and search from your browser "CubeX" and note the names of the files that may interest you. There is 123 in total.
    http://cubify.s3.amazonaws.com/

    Then when you find the files you want, go to this page and locate the file. On page one, these are all direct download links -
    http://www.print3dforum.com/showthre...ube-File-Links

    Windows 7 and windows 10 works fine. (I'm pretty sure I've had it on Win10 anyway).

    3D printing is great for all people. You have the foreknowledge of gadgets so the printer is already looking familiar. The code is made to be dummy proof. It is the advanced features us forum hounds have come up with that start opening up possibilties.

    Somehow we need to get you a chip. Are you in the USA?

    You can clip a chip on the receiver in the printer and have it function without the cartridge.

    20190414_210416.jpg

    I've done this in a pinch on the printer itself. the receiving contacts are loop so they easy to hook into. But of course, a cartridge would be ideal. It can be empty to just hold it in place and use the outside feed. I suspect that somewhere around the school there was a cartridge floating around for that very purpose.

    The next problem will be how to keep the chip charged. I don't even know if the internal hack can be applied CubeX. Everything to do with the chip is managed by the printer in firmware. The software is only an interface to the printer, and a slicer. The f/w takes care of the printer and interpreting g-code (CNC). There are tools that can reset the chip for you when you get there. It is a process that I've laid out in great detail in a very long post. If little hobby projects like this interest you, look forward to learning some things outside your comfort zone. I have a feeling you know how to solder just fine.
    Last edited by TommyDee; 04-27-2020 at 05:58 PM.

  5. #5
    3D Printer Noob
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    Hi again TommyDee
    I have been working on the printer and some software the hole day today, and found out that, if I use an old cubex software (I think it is an Ver. 1.0) and load a *.stl file, then I can create (with the build button) some files in that software called *(rebuild) .bfb and *(rebuild).stl

    Then In the *.bfb file (what I can open with notepad) I just deleted the line nr. 2, 3,4,5, and 6
    And save it without them, after that I just can copy the file *.bfb to some USB stick and put it in to the USB port of the cubex front, and then touch the print button on the cubex display, tap the file and it starts with out any check on the cartridge,

    But! I think it will be better and easier to have a dummy installed in the cartridge adapter and then update the cartridge with something like the *.jpg you uploaded

    I'm living in Denmark

    But I have a PayPal account
    An yes some soldering should not be a problem I think 😉

    - - - - - - - - - -

    TommyDee, what program do you use to create 3d projects with, I have tried tinkercad, that works good, but I only works online, can you recommend some one better?

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    3,391
    Post Thanks / Like
    I use professional tool that set me back quite some change. This is for business of course. I got a license of Invent with my CubePro and I liked it. Someone is using it now and they say it is frustrating. Fusion 360 is probably the best second level CAD one can get into. If you have some kind of college connection, you can get everything for a song. They do have a trial period for the rest of us. A lot of 3D DIY peeps love it. It goes into a lot of advanced manufacturing tools.

    Interesting on the F/W and the files. Good you found some way to have the machine respond. Interesting that removing some of the housekeeping lines let the printer operate to some extent. It didn't check for filament because you probably removed the lines for which filament was required. And the code wasn't advanced enough yet to issue a warning and reject the file.

    Most Cubify printers now use encoded files. Good people here and elsewhere have cracked the code to some extent. It opens up the printers a little.

    There are also several people busy making their Cubify printer open source so you could run any code against it. Basically making it a hardware platform of sorts [electro-mechanical of course]. These tools can really take you to a deep dive. I've pretty much stuck to Cubify direct with CubePro and the Cube3. I don't know much about how refined the CubeX got to. Please feel free to start a discussion in the forum to see if there are some good insights out there for you.

    I can probably post you a chip but it needs a way to stay in place and connected. Somehow I think that won't be a problem. The firmware will have to be at a level where it recognizes CubePro chips. How does eBay look for local (in-country) CubePro cartridges on your side?

    I'll help you as I can.

  7. #7
    3D Printer Noob
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    Hi TommyDee
    I thought the same when I looked through the net,, many was writhing about fusion 360, but im totally newbie on 3d building,, however we all have to learn as long we live 😁

    I just ordered 2 cartridges from ebay In Germany, so I can use the chip form them,
    They cost about 50 USD for 1, in France they cost about 45 USD, exclusive post to Denmark
    So it's almost the same,, in Denmark they cost about 90 USD, so I'm glad I got an PayPal account 😄 and also can speak German too 😉

    What SW do you need to reset the cartridge with, is it already on the tool, or do it need some external updates first,

    And how do we do that, if you can get me sorts little tool to little Denmark

  8. #8
    3D Printer Noob
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    Sorry Agate
    But the link is broken

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    3,391
    Post Thanks / Like
    Probably a good thing We get a small series of spams each night. Mopping the floors this morning.

  10. #10
    3D Printer Noob
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    Oh,,, that's why the name was Agate
    A GATE to get outside this forum 😂

    Some other thing, TommyDee,,,
    Do you know if there also is some quality differens of the things getting printet from different 3d building software, or should they all be the same quality
    What i mean is,, will details be the same no matter which 3d draw software will be used,
    Or is it the software that convert the data so the printer can understand what to do?
    Do you know something about that

    And a thing more, the printer heads,,, how close should they be to the ground plate when/before it starts printing, it looks that someone have made some adjustments on one of the to heads, because one is a little bit higher / away from the plate

    I can manually in the display menu let the plate driver up and down, when the counter is on 0.0 how close is your head to the plate in millimeters or inch, (I'm not quite sure how you would measure it)

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •