Thanks Thanks:  5
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 30
  1. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    3,356
    Post Thanks / Like
    Yes, the process is to open Arduino IDE; connect the wand; open the serial monitor; make contact with the chip; enter the command 8,99;<enter>; and a response will come up on the screen '8,0'. This is the appropriate response.
    You can use 7;<enter> to check the value that was actually written. It is not always exact. some math is going on to determine what to write.

    When you issue the ReCube commands, they come back with a response code. Typically this is the command entered followed by a comma and a 0 [zero] followed by a semicolon or additional information. The zero in the second position means 'successful operation'.

  2. #12
    3D Printer Noob
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Posts
    16
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thank you I want to change the temperature and material

  3. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    3,356
    Post Thanks / Like
    Leonardo, I cannot reply to your message.

  4. #14
    3D Printer Noob
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Location
    United States, kansas
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like
    Hey guys, I ordered a ReCube through Williamliu hoping to refill cartridges with different materials. I'm curious about loading and printing TPU with the cube pro. I tried printing TPU with PLA loaded in the cartridge holder and feeding the TPU up the tube instead of the PLA. The TPU would print for about a minute and then jam in the extruder. Is here a way to set the hot end temp manually? Also can I control retraction manually? I'm running firmware 2.02. Also interested in printing nylon but, don't see it as an option in the printer set up. One last thing, is there a place to buy used or empty cartridges? Thanks in advance

  5. #15
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    3,356
    Post Thanks / Like
    The choices with CubePro are limited. However, yes, you can edit the file - but not V2.02 files. We can only edit V1.87 files.

    The more popular solution to get to an advanced slicer on CubePro is to use Simplify3D which is a paid program.
    It has a recipe for CubePro that does require encoding but you get the advantage of the advanced slicer.

    CubePro 1.87 makes horrible prints. ...he says tongue in cheek. CubePro uses an obscure philosophy of 'fitting within the envelope'. Meaning they always make the parts 'small' The part will always fit with the 3D CAD file. Unlike other consumer printer that print a nominal model and let the tolerances go either way from the envelope.
    I'm saying the CubePro slicer, v2.02 and v1.87, are not the most presentable results where structurally they are quite well made.

    Forum member BuddyBu made a very advanced editor for the Cube files. Downgrading to v1.87 and working with Buddy's tools should let you dial in the PTU material.

  6. #16
    3D Printer Noob
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Location
    United States, kansas
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like
    Tommydee,
    I'm looking at the simplify3D program, Being more of a hands on hardware guy, software lingo goes over my head quickly. The software is $150,will this be a plug and play after its installed? Is 2.02 firmware correct?
    Thanks
    Team AARP

  7. #17
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    3,356
    Post Thanks / Like
    JDowding - I cannot speak for Simplify 3D as I haven't gotten it yet. Word is that is is a good profile for CubePro. This makes a file in the proper format for out printers. The output file from Simplify3D is dropped on a different file and it makes the printable file.

    The beauty of Simplify 3D is that it is a unique slicer. CubePro is capable of printing legacy files. Best of both worlds.

    The firmware version should remain the latest, yes. The only reason to downgrade CubePro is the filament hack. I recommend ReCube as that is a lot more reliable for CubePro.

    Otherwise, Simplify3D is basically another slicer like Cura except that someone has made the effort to come up with a starting point on recipes. Getting away from the 3DS CubePro slicer is only a good thing in my view. I can make it work, but that's work in itself. However, I use CubePro bone stock and run mostly ABS special pieces. Cube3 does most of the heavy lifting for me.

  8. #18
    3D Printer Noob
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Location
    United States, kansas
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like
    Hey Tommydee, Running Simplify3D this evening, looks promising. Thanks for your insight. Ill follow up after I figure it out a little more. ReCube showed up today also, MAGIC!!

  9. Thanks TommyDee thanked for this post
  10. #19
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    3,356
    Post Thanks / Like
    Have a ball JD I would certainly welcome your perspective of the S3D experience.

  11. #20
    3D Printer Noob
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like
    I have he pro version wand for my cubepro and changing between pla and abs is fine, It usually takes a few tries but works. My issues is trying to change to wood. It never changes and if I test the chip it says nothing loaded on my cubepro. If I change back to pla or abs it chip works again. I try 10,5,25; send. Am I doing something wrong? getting ready to convert to duet wifi to get around all this hacking but until then want to try wood filament

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •