Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  1
Dislikes Dislikes:  1
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    3D Printer Noob
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like

    Changing the material code for my CubePro

    Looking to print PLA on the printer but I do not have a PLA chip just ABS. I was told that I can change the material code but I am lost on how to get this done. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    3,102
    Post Thanks / Like
    Hello Reggie and welcome to the forum. I just sent you a message with the link to the editor thread.

    You will run your print in CubePro v1.87 with PLA as an offline print. You will take the output file and edit it to a different material value that corresponds to an ABS filament. The editor will let you change these values with the UI. When you save the file, you can either print it with USB or print it from the app.

  3. #3
    3D Printer Noob
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    I recreated the file with v1.87 with PLA on in it and sent it to the editor now it is showing all the number on the Left Cartridge Temp, I must have been using the newer version file and not realized it. I am going to try to print it late and see what happens, thanks for the help.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    3,102
    Post Thanks / Like
    Fingers crossed

  5. #5
    3D Printer Noob
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like
    Hi Reggie . . . let me know if you're still having problems. I've got a number of empty cartridges here (I'm Staffs, UK). happy to post you a PLA chip but percentage may need resetting by Tommy. I need to hack my machine too, had it since new in 2015 and struggling to find cartridges now!

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    3,102
    Post Thanks / Like
    If either of you want to tackle a ReCube solution, holler. Requirement; licensed to drive a soldering iron.

  7. #7
    3D Printer Noob
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like
    It had crossed my mind Tommy! I use the cubepro mostly for thin wall prototypes, 'solid fill' was vastly improved with v2.02 f/w & s/w, so I dismissed the software hack option some time ago.

    Time is in short supply at the mo with family and business. My heads spinning from all the stuff i've been reading about it last few days. Where would you suggest i start, can you point to a how-to please?

    Do you know much about the ReKindle? looks like an implementation of ReCube Lite? https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/ReKindle-...s/332983920957

  8. Likes TommyDee liked this post
    Dislikes williamliu disliked this post
  9. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    3,102
    Post Thanks / Like
    I hear you. I don't want to downgrade CubePro slicer or the machine. But I do like putting Cube3 files on CubePro. It's a bit of work and limited to the smaller size.

    ReKindle is from the same people who brought you the hack. It has since been handed over to the current eBay seller.
    ReCube is a wholly separate endeavor that followed by Tomuro at Haxtom.com.
    I find the ReCube code much easier to use. Power and click - done. Seriously, at the minimum configuration it is an Arduino NANO, a 2.2K resistor, and Arduino IDE. If you know someone to help with soldering, it is a simple thing to do. Say $10 and a beer on the outside. You could send me the parts and I'll fix something up for you if postage didn't cost so much.
    Last edited by TommyDee; 04-05-2020 at 08:40 PM.

  10. #9
    3D Printer Noob
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thanks for the offer and well I would love to one off your hands if you want to send it to me. What is the percentages on them? I can send you a message later.

    - - - - - - - - - -

    @TommyDee, well I ran it last night and set it for PLA on the slicer and changed it to CP_ABS on the editor saved it and it started to print then it failed half way. I used a USB. I am also running the Hacked FW v2.00, will that cause it to fail? Should I change it back to the non hacked version? I am sure I am missing something simple here.

    Editor 1.JPG

    Script 1.JPG

    - - - - - - - - - -

    OK I just ran it again but this time my machine read it as ABS but it gave me and Invalid code Error. Any idea would be great

  11. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    3,102
    Post Thanks / Like
    The v2.00 hack has shown problematic before. Had 2 reports of chamber heater/fan issues. I'm curious to know if the installation method of the updated F/W can cause some level of corruption in the installed F/W.

    I don't see a particular problem with your file unless something else corrupted it. Can you pull the file up in CubePro when it is done converting?
    Part of the files is the image icon for the printer. That may be causing some issues. We haven't done extensive testing as yet on CubePro other than mine.
    Care to help Buddybu shake out the works as you are a 'new user experience' user.


    Buddy? - We're just changing a V1.87 CubePro file from PLA to ABS and nothing else. This is to make the file compatible with the chip. Filament is PLA.
    Last edited by TommyDee; 04-06-2020 at 02:14 AM.

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •