Thanks Thanks:  9
Likes Likes:  2
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 38
  1. #11
    3D Printer Noob
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Location
    By America Makes
    Posts
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    I did look into that not sure how it fits into this workflow unless I get problems using other materials. I have to believe that after a temp is set for printing everything else would be handled by the controller / firmware.
    What do you mean Cube3 nozzle bias temps.


    - - - - - - - - - -

    AAAA just tried to add a cube3 to my Simplify3d it is not shown. only CubePro and Cubex

  2. #12
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    3,334
    Post Thanks / Like
    Interesting. Of no matter. I can convert CubePro to Cube3. Cube 3 heats the unused extruder to about 155C. Dual extruder prints have to manage this at every layer. A post would include replacing 1 line with 2 g-code commands.

    What I didn't see in the snippit of a file was if the M109 are handled right. Cubify used a P0 and P1 modifier to indicate a wait for temp. I'm pretty sure that was an implementation way after the original BFB specs. 3DS/Cubify is very particular about managing nozzle temps very closely including putting overshoot protection and managing temps by allowing the temp to ramp while still printing. Very complex in the Cube3 and probably not even present in CubePro.

    The system F/W takes care of all the housekeeping. It just reads the file like a grocery list. Takes in data it needs to confirm you are printing a compatible file and just starts running commands against what it knows to do with those commands. Temperature is managed by the slicer. Your material settings should manage the filament's temperature right?

    Quick note - 3DS ABS is not the same as other ABS. On Cube3 I run a PETG profile on 3rd party ABS. I haven't put 3rd party ABS on the CubePro yet but the 260C temp used by Cube3 is too hot for most 3rd party offerings that I've tried. 250C should be reasonable.
    Last edited by TommyDee; 04-15-2020 at 01:50 AM.

  3. #13
    Regular 3D Printer
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Posts
    84
    Post Thanks / Like
    Reviving this one because I just pulled my CubePro out of a closet and I am hoping to take full advantage of it and Simplify3D. I broke down and purchased S3D almost a year ago and it is awesome! My Cube3 gets the most use and I was very impressed with the increase in quality and flexibility it offers. if you are on the fence, you can request a refund within 30 days of purchase.

    I also have a BFB and CubeX. All 4 options are readily available in S3D (well, you need to download a profile from here for the Cube3). I simply swap between profiles when printing with one versus another.

    Does anyone have any profiles they can share here? My 1st test print with the built in PLA profile was better than I expected. Hoping that someone has built a PETG and Nylon profile that they are willing to share.

    Another benefit of S3D... The cartridge (or chip) loaded is insignificant unless you are using INF (PVA) or Flex and that is completely irrelevant if using BIOS 1.87, because you can slice with OEM and then change the "material(s)" in cube3editor. Example: You have Ninjaflex retail filament loaded but no original Flex cartridge - you only have an ABS cartridge chip (and an advanced printjet loaded in 2), you can build the model to print in Flex then open the build file and simply change the slot 2 cart to "ABS".

    I haven't tested this specific scenario, but testing I have done shows no indication that any sort of "smart" check exists. The printer doesn't appear to review anything other than the material code against installed cartridge and amount of filament needed. If material code matches installed chip + required amount of filament is available = green light -> proceed with running g-code.

    Obviously, if you don't want to downgrade to BIOS 1.87 then you can swap chips and reload with one of the many chip programmers available. The pro version of ReCube allows you to change type, color and printer model of the chip.

    Also, does anyone have any of the Pro material codes available? The profile shared with S3D uses 214 for PLA and 259 for ABS. Specifically looking for Nylon material codes. I don't think I'll need but might be useful.

  4. #14
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    3,334
    Post Thanks / Like
    Great stuff Doug. I wish I had time to put into S3D.

    The take-away is that CubePro is backwards compatible with older file types. CubePro 2.02 operates on a whole different level than the older BFB code. I suspect it was for a later release to get around processor delay when reading code. Cube3 still uses the BFB code, obviously, but CubePro v2 isn't readable because it uses a proprietary communication from what I can tell. The files are completely restructured. It really is a shame we never saw CubePro 3.0.

    Materials? Ekocycle profile for PETG rocks. 250C and gentle retracts. Hasn't let me down yet.

    Please feel free to post up what you got on S3D. Would love to be tempted into finding time.

  5. #15
    Regular 3D Printer
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Posts
    84
    Post Thanks / Like
    Here are a couple of profiles - One at the default S3D def print speed of 3000mm/sec and another at 4000. I'm playing around with the top speed to see if I can trim print times down while still maintaining quality. 4000mm/sec makes is noisier than I expected on the Trio, so I'm going to increase by 500/sec from there .

    Only the PLA materials in each profile is tested so far. I got "good" results on aged/retail PLA. IE, not Cube3 w/ tuned S3D profile results but a big improvement over OEM slicer.

    ABS settings are an educated guess but should be good initial settings.

    If anyone has recommended settings for bridging, that would be really helpful. I've accidentally created items and witnessed the end result of the Cube3 bridge a 3inch+ gap very nicely, but didn't see how it accomplished it (slower, faster, lower temp, etc).

    Please enjoy and provide feedback/recommendations.
    Please test the PLA

    Simplify3D profiles
    Last edited by dougk12; 02-19-2021 at 05:18 PM.

  6. Thanks TommyDee thanked for this post
  7. #16
    3D Printer Noob
    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Posts
    26
    Post Thanks / Like
    I've been using S3D with my Trio and really enjoy the minute tweaking I can do. Aside from the hopelessly stale 3DS carts I had, I've so far printed with aftermarket ABS, PETG, and Nylon -- all with good results. Some of them took a little trial-and-error tweaking but once dialed in, very nice.

    The one issue I would like to resolve, however, is when using extruder 2 or 3, it does not park them over the waste bin while heating up and therefore does not wipe the nozzle on the wiper bar. With extruder 3, a long string just flows down which I can kinda grab and pull off somewhat. With extruder 2, unfortunately it parks over top of the right waste box support pin so the filament bunches up and has a tendency to stick to the nozzle.

    I've checked with S3D support but they weren't able to help with this. I feel the right G-code inserted in the "Starting Script" spot could fix that, but I have no idea how to do it. Thoughts?

  8. #17
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    3,334
    Post Thanks / Like
    Every extruder change in the file is where you will find the 'wipe' subroutine. There has to be a 'post' element that has these values.

  9. #18
    3D Printer Noob
    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Posts
    26
    Post Thanks / Like
    I'm not referring to multi-extruder prints, I'm just talking about when printing with a single extruder for the whole job. With S3D, it parts the print head assy in the middle of the bed and heats the chamber. Then it moves the printhead assy to the right rear to heat and prime the appropriate extruder. However, regardless of which extruder is selected for the print job, during the extruder warm up and priming, the printhead assy is positioned so that extruder #1 is over the waste box and #2 and #3 are off to the side.

    S3D has a spot for "Starting Script", "Layer Change Script", "Retraction Script", "Tool Change Script", and "Ending Script"

    Only the beginning and ending Script spots have code in them already. The other three are blank. Here's what's in the Starting Script box:

    ^Firmware:V1.10
    ^Minfirmware:V1.00
    ^DRM:000000000000
    ^PrinterModel:CUBEPRO
    ^MaterialCodeE1:-1
    ^MaterialCodeE2:MATERIAL2CODE
    ^MaterialCodeE3:-1
    ^MaterialLengthE1: 0.000
    ^MaterialLengthE2: 1
    ^MaterialLengthE3: 0.000
    ^ModelHeight: 20.000
    ^LayerCount: 100
    ^LayerHeight:0.2
    ^Supports:-1
    ^Raft:-1
    ^Sidewalks:-1
    ^Density:Strong
    ^Patterniamond
    ^Version:891
    ^Time:TOTALTIMEMIN
    M404 S[bed4_temperature]
    M227 P250 S250 G300 F700
    M228 P0 S250
    M231 P0 S0
    M232 P2500 S2500
    M233 P1850
    M106 P100
    G4 P0
    M601 P2 S30 F5
    M228 P0 S1
    M227 P1 S1 G1000 F1000
    M240 S1400
    M204 S230 P1
    G1 X118.000 Y136.000 Z5.2000 F9000.0
    G1 X118.000 Y161.000 Z5.2000 F9000.0
    G1 X118.000 Y157.000 Z5.2000 F9000.0
    M104 S[extruder1_temperature]
    M204 S[extruder2_temperature]
    M304 S[extruder3_temperature]
    M552 P1500 S50
    G1 X118.000 Y136.000 Z5.2000 F9000.0
    M601 P2 S30 F5
    M404 S[bed4_temperature] P1
    M106 P[fan_speed_percentage]
    ^InitComplete
    #Vector T2
    M228 P0 S250
    M227 P250 S250 G300 F700

  10. #19
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    3,334
    Post Thanks / Like
    The 3 G1 commands are the different extruder locations on the bin. Tweak those numbers and remove lines for the extruders other than 1.

  11. #20
    Regular 3D Printer
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Posts
    84
    Post Thanks / Like
    Here's a crazy idea, install the CubeX software and create print files that use each printjet and copy/paste the gcode over. Cubex print files are easy to decode? Are they even encrypted like Cube3+?

    I suspect that you may need a profile for PJ1, PJ2 and PJ3 and potentially more for dual color/material prints. Multiple some of those for filament types . But I kind of enjoy working on S3D filament recipes, I'm weird like that.

    Hmm, don't see what is needed in decoded CubeX files?? Is the wipe function a single command?

    ^MaterialLengthE1: 311
    blah blah blah
    G1 X-39.870 Y10.012 Z0.500 F30000.0

    ^MaterialLengthE2: 288
    blah blah blah
    G1 X-39.878 Y10.303 Z0.500 F30000.0


    ^MaterialLengthE3: 288
    blah blah blah
    G1 X-39.878 Y10.303 Z0.500 F30000.0
    Last edited by dougk12; 05-05-2021 at 10:53 PM.

 

 

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •