Thanks Thanks:  5
Likes Likes:  2
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 39
  1. #1
    3D Printer Noob
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    16
    Post Thanks / Like

    Use Simplify3D with a Cube 3

    This is very much in experimental stages and sorta kinda works. It seems to print much faster than the normal slicer but hey its working so I'm happy. All I did was modify the Cube Pro Single Extruder profile that you can download in S3D and managed to get it to work with a cube 3. I take no responsibility if this somehow burns out a stepper motor. I don't think it will happen but I don't want to pay for peoples steppers if it does. It has not happened to me after hours of printing so I think its fine. I have provided a test file that you can use to follow the instructions with to try and get an idea of how to use it. I have provided some tools I found in older posts that got this working. If you made the tool and don't want it in the download then I will be happy to link people to a download provided by you.

    GDrive DOWNLOAD

    Currently this only works with PLA and you can get better prints in most cases with the normal slicer but this is great if you need something printed fast.
    I would love to see someone add PETG or ABS support if I haven't gotten to it already. Instructions are located in the readme file. If you find any problems please let me know.

    UPDATE V2
    Well this happened sooner than I expected. So it still prints fast but the quality is much better and the temp has been updated here is an update log.
    -Extruder Temp is now adjustable (temp is set to go to 235C while heating up but once it starts printing it levels to the desired temperature)
    -Cooling is now adjustable
    -Manually removing the top 3 lines are no longer needed because those aren't generated in the bfb file anymore (just drag and drop)

    Download for V2: DOWNLOAD
    Last edited by Sofa_Kingdom; 04-30-2020 at 05:49 PM. Reason: Updated to V2

  2. Thanks bolsoncerrado, treofab thanked for this post
    Likes bolsoncerrado liked this post
  3. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    3,358
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thanks for this Sofa_Kingdom. I will try to print the benchy and look through the BFB. This is exciting since I've been on the S3D fence for nearly 2 years now.

  4. #3
    3D Printer Noob
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    16
    Post Thanks / Like
    My pleasure . Getting stuff to work that shouldn't work is kinda what I do sometimes. I managed to get Android 10 running on my Samsung Galaxy S4 which was officially supposed to stop at KitKat.

  5. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    3,358
    Post Thanks / Like
    You and me both Did a similar trick to load Win10 on a couple of non-compliant systems.

  6. #5
    Administrator bolsoncerrado's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    3,326
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thanks for this one. I hate the default slicer for the hicups and unnecessary jerks it introduces to the hardware :/

  7. #6
    Regular 3D Printer
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    145
    Post Thanks / Like
    I run osx Mojave on my hp Laptop...

  8. #7
    3D Printer Noob
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    16
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by razor81 View Post
    I run osx Mojave on my hp Laptop...
    Hackintosh I see. I ran Mojave on my Dell XPS 13 for a little bit but sadly had to reinstall windows because I didn't have a compatible wifi card installed and I didn't have the money at the time to get a compatible one. I'm not even a big fan of Mac OS but I was really bored with Windows and didn't feel like using something like Ubuntu because I needed the latest version of Office 365. We did get OS 10.13 running on my friends gaming laptop but it ran WAY too fast. All the animations were super sped up so we called it the Crack Mac.

    - - - - - - - - - -

    I figured some things out like the 3 lines on the top. the first line (M107) wants to turn the fan off. I thought it might be from the end script but it appears there too so I don't know where it is coming from. The second line (M404 S40 P1) is wanting to set the bed temp. The Cube 3 doesn't have a heated bed so I removed that from the slicer and that works fine now and doesn't add the line. The third line (M104 S190 P1) is trying to set the extruder temp. I was told that you have to watch both extruder temps and I hadn't ran into this problem. The reason I didn't run into this problem was because the gcode for the start script includes the temp for both extruders that would have shown up from the normal slicer so the temperature control from S3D was doing nothing. This will eventually be fixed in an update if I can figure it out. If I can't then I will end up making separate profiles for other filament types and just include the default temp from cubeprint in those starting scrips as well. While the current profile does work it is very half baked and made from someone who is not very experienced. My goal for the next update is to either modify the encrypt script so that it auto removes the garbage lines of gcode at the beginning or modify the profile so that it doesn't put those in the bfb file to begin with.

  9. #8
    Regular 3D Printer
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    145
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thats why i like my cube3's running marlin...
    Fully controllable and adjustable...

  10. #9
    3D Printer Noob
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    16
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by razor81 View Post
    Thats why i like my cube3's running marlin...
    Fully controllable and adjustable...
    I would do that but I don't want to take apart the printer and rewire everything right now. But you have to admit what I have done right now really opens up stock cubes to more possibilities. Right now the only thing I don't have working is dual extruders. Most likely that will be the next thing I will be working on. Really right now if I just adjusted speed and extrusion it would probably get better prints than stock. A LOT has been made adjustable through this method.

  11. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    3,358
    Post Thanks / Like
    Dual extrusion is really the test for post processing in S3D. I've worked out some of the dance that 3DS did to make this happened in the slicer. They use a very cumbersome overshoot protection. Also the wipes and purges have to be managed somehow. Does S3D have specific functions you can define 'tool change operations' like switching nozzles?

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •