Thanks Thanks:  3
Likes Likes:  10
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    3D Printer Noob
    Post Thanks / Like

Running OctoPrint with Stock Cube3

Greetings Forums,

I was wondering if anyone has looked down this rabbit hole. I know OctoPrint is a great resource for many of the printers out there, but to my knowledge I haven't been able to come across any materials in my research in getting it to work with the Cube3. Now I know there have been several users here and several threads on converting the Cube3 to marlin based firm. At this moment in time I am just looking to use the printer as is, with modifications to the filament delivery of course. I started playing with the Cubify slicer and I find it lacking. I would rather use Slic3r, or maybe S3D (I have seen the how-to thread on the latter) with the Cube3. I know there is a long thread about BFB and the Cube decoder/encoder, which if Slicer3r is able to generate I am happy to go that route. Better still, if OctoPrint can just do the encode on the fly that would be nice. I dunno, I am just musing at the moment.

I'd love to here anyone's thoughts or ideas on integrating OctoPrint, most likely via an OctoPi, to the Cube3.

Regards.

Expert 3D Printer
    Post Thanks / Like
    Welcome Smokingenius.

In my opinion, the biggest obstacles to overcome are:

1. Temperature bias handling between the two nozzles
    2. Proprietary bfb or g-code.
    3. Communicating with the cube to send files.
    4. Generating the headers for the printer

For the 3rd one, I have been working on getting a way to send files to the printer without using the 3DSystems tools, like Cube-print. This is a work in progress.

3. Likes TommyDee liked this post
    Super Moderator
    Post Thanks / Like
    Start with finding out of Octoprint has a BFB profile fo rthe slicer. This will give you the right format. After that, you basically have a Cura on your hands.

3D Printer Noob
    Post Thanks / Like