Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Regular 3D Printer
    Post Thanks / Like

Help getting printer connected to computer

Hi all,
    I am very new to 3d CAD and printing and want to integrate it with my lapidary arts practice. I received my Rapid 200 at Xmas but had no time to set it up until February 2015. There was no real problems in setting it up and I managed to get 4-5 initial prints without too much hassle. I used my i5 Windows 7 tablet with both Repetier and Cura and found Repetier to have easier access to its functions. There seemed to be some trouble with connecting and it was solved by changing the comm port several times until it connected.
    I couldn't get it to print directly from the SD card though, even following the instructions posted on this forum regarding auto0.g. In that regard I have no idea what I am doing wrong...
    I put the printer aside for the last month and worked on my CAD design which I now have ready for test printing. For the last two days I have not been able to get Repetier or Cura to connect to the printer. Cura cycles endlessly trying to connect while Repetier gives the unable to connect message which I would normally try changing comm ports or another message saying 'semaphore timeout'. I googled 'semaphore timeout' problems but the responses were highly technical coding type answers way beyond my abilities.
    Nothing has changed since my first attempts except usual Windows updates. I am at a loss now as to what to do and if anyone could help it would be very much appreciated.
    Regards
    Pete

Regular 3D Printer
    Post Thanks / Like
    The comms connection has always been a problem for many windows machine because the setting is so "delicate"

I assume that you have already installed the drivers and followed the instructions from http://www.print3dforum.com/showthre...p-the-Hardware