Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  1
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    3D Printer Noob
    Post Thanks / Like

Red face CubePro - never used until now...hopefully

Hello folks

I am Mrs Nolan, a teacher and having just recently join my new school, I discovered that we have a CubePro, but it has not been used. I have now acquired it, I am a CS teacher, and my students are super excited to use it. But first I need to make sure I have it all activated and the latest drivers are installed. As you all know 3Dsystems do not care about this old model. Alas I have been searching for answers - and this forum is exactly what we need.

The Cubepro has power, it is visible on my computer.

1: Drivers - does anyone have the latest drivers?
    2: firmware upgrades - how do I get these?

I will happily buy coffee for helpful replies.

think about the children....

Kind Regards
    Mrs Nolan

Super Moderator
    Post Thanks / Like
    Welcome to the forum Mrs. Nolan. If the printer is still asking for the 4-digit code, then this is something that 3D Systems needs to answer. If that doesn't happened, we may need to recruit the ingenuity of some good people. It was intended to start the warranty period but I do not know the policy since the full support arm disappeared.

Firmware, latest is v2.02. Drivers is only the program CubePro v2.02. This is for Windows. The only thing that will see the printer connected via WiFi is CubePro.

Things to know - the filament that came with the printer is old. It will work but not as good as new filament. New filament is not generally available from 3DS.

These units use a monitoring chip that counts down filament. Once the chip goes to zero, it is considered 'spent' and must be replaced. Over the years good people have helped correct this niggle and there are now two solutions to refilling the chip. One is questionable and the other is an expense. I will leave this open depending on your reply.