Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    Regular 3D Printer
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    157
    Post Thanks / Like

    Firmware for dual extruder

    Hi!

    Does anyone have the firmware for the Dual extruder RL200?

  2. #2
    Administrator bolsoncerrado's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    3,332
    Post Thanks / Like
    You just need to enable the second extruder in the firmware, nothing science fiction.

  3. #3
    Regular 3D Printer
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    157
    Post Thanks / Like
    I know which settings control them - but maybe im not updating them correctly to the Rumba.

    I've been trying to update the Configuration.h-file with the appropriate settings (using the firmware-zip thats on this forum for the Rapide Lite). "#define Extruders 2" etc.
    After updating the board with the Arduino-app using my windows machine - i get an error in the log "M104 invalid extruder".

    Is there a guide to do this properly?

  4. #4
    3D Printer Legend
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    UK, near London
    Posts
    712
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by JonatanJacobsson View Post
    I know which settings control them - but maybe im not updating them correctly to the Rumba.

    I've been trying to update the Configuration.h-file with the appropriate settings (using the firmware-zip thats on this forum for the Rapide Lite). "#define Extruders 2" etc.
    After updating the board with the Arduino-app using my windows machine - i get an error in the log "M104 invalid extruder".

    Is there a guide to do this properly?
    Jonatan - I think you may be the first to dual extrude (apart from Dennis with his advance copy RL200XL) so unlikely to be a RL guide, I guess you'll have to Google "3d printer, dual extruder settings" and look for other open source printers to see what has been posted.

    Can I ask what set up you have for a dual extruder?

  5. #5
    Regular 3D Printer
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    157
    Post Thanks / Like
    Ok.

    Well im not actually gonna use two extruders - im going to use one of the extruder-connectors on the board to power my heated bed, since the mosfet for the heated bed broke down on me a couple of weeks ago.

    I've tested that i can power the heated bed through one connector - but then i wont be able to use my extruder I will have to do a firmware update with new settings to enable the board to run from two out of three extruder-connectors on the board.

  6. #6
    3D Printer Legend
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    UK, near London
    Posts
    712
    Post Thanks / Like
    As a wild, quick, top of the head guess, I would say you have to either;
    copy the current bed settings into the 2nd extruder settings
    OR
    re-direct the current bed settings to the connection/port number of the 2nd extruder

    Seems fairly logical (I think) but I have no idea if that's fact or fiction without access to my system to check.

  7. #7
    Regular 3D Printer
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    157
    Post Thanks / Like
    I think im doing something wrong with the updating of the firmware. My settings should be fine but the board isnt reacting somehow.

  8. #8
    Regular 3D Printer
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    157
    Post Thanks / Like
    Yay! I can now use both extruder-connectors ...however, i cant see in any software how hot the heated bed is. I can control it using GCODE but i cannot use M105 to check the temperature of the second "extruder".

    But this is now solved i guess

  9. #9
    Administrator bolsoncerrado's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    3,332
    Post Thanks / Like
    You disabled the first heater right?

  10. #10
    Regular 3D Printer
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    157
    Post Thanks / Like
    Well, no?

    I got it working now. I turned out that you could change the pin settings and use the second extruder-connector to power the heated bed. Now i control the printer as i would normally and it doesnt seem to break down on me

    The file that controlled the pin settings was named pins.h - go figure

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. He3d-i3 Dual-Extruder 3d printer kit
    By wendy in forum 3D Print Gallery
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-04-2015, 08:36 AM
  2. He3d-i3 Dual-Extruder 3d printer kit
    By wendy in forum 3D Printers - Other Brands
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-01-2015, 08:42 AM
  3. LCD & Dual Extruder pics unleashed!!
    By bolsoncerrado in forum Rapide Lite 3D Printers
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 01-28-2015, 11:27 AM
  4. What about dual extruder control on our softwares?
    By bolsoncerrado in forum 3D Software
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-08-2015, 08:18 PM
  5. Mixing on Dual Extruder ;)
    By bolsoncerrado in forum 3D Print Materials & Filaments
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-08-2015, 08:17 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •